Four in a row for Golden Square

GOLDEN Square won its fourth-straight BFNL premiership today in dramatic style at the QEO.

Square led Gisborne by three points when Gisborne veteran Rod Sharp marked the ball just inside 50 on the right half-forward flank.

As he walked back from his mark the final siren sounded.Sharp's kick from the 50m line looked to be sailing through for a goal, but it fell just a metre short.

Golden Square players celebrated, while Gisborne players slumped to the turf in despair.

Golden Square won 16.10 (106) to 14.19 (103).

It was a brave effort from Gisborne considering it lost star rover Scott Walsh to a broken leg in the first minute of the game.

Golden Square looked home when it led by 33 points in the second quarter, but Gisborne never gave up.

Golden Square skipper Simon Rosa won the Nalder Medal for best on ground.

The centreman was outstanding, kicking four goals.

Gisborne forward Darren Farrugia won the VCFL Medal for his six-goal haul.

In the opening minute of the final quarter Golden Square full-forward Grant Weeks kicked his fourth goal to break the record for most goals kicked in a BFNL season.

Weeks' 164th goal for the year eclipsed Eaglehawk's Frank Crapper's mark of 163 set in 1933.

Golden Square celebrate after winning their fourth premiership in a row. Picture: Jim Aldersey

Golden Square celebrate after winning their fourth premiership in a row. Picture: Jim Aldersey

For more coverage see Monday's Bendigo Advertiser.

Grand final scores:


Under-18 - Sandhurst defeated Golden Square

Reserves - Sandhurst 13.10 (88) defeated Strathfieldsaye 12.8 (80).

Seniors - Golden Square 16.10- (106) defeated Gisborne 14.19 - (103)


Under-17 - Sandhurst defeated Kangaroo Flat

B-Reserve - Sandhurst defeated Kangaroo Flat

B-Grade - Eaglehawk defeated Sandhurst

A-Grade - Eaglehawk 31 defeated Sandhurst 30


Discuss "Four in a row for Golden Square"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.