Harcourt's Chaplin wins MCDFL's top honour

A BEST afield performance in the final round meant Harcourt’s Paul Chaplin was outright winner of the Berry Powell Memorial Medal for best and fairest in the Maryborough Castlemaine District Football League’s senior competiton in 2012.

A dominant player for the Lions in recent years, Chaplin earned maximum votes in four games and overall tally of 20.

Joint runners-up were Maldon’s Tom Cain and Natte Bealiba’s Lachlan Cameron on 17 votes, with Trentham’s Dion Lawson on 16.

The night included the Nalder-Tracey trophy for the A-grade best and fairest.

Dunolly’s Ashlee Lierich polled 33 votes to win the prestigious award.

Runner-up was Lexton’s Krystal Fisher, 29, from Natte Bealiba team-mates Ingrid Hopkins and Sharelle Martin on 22.

The league vote count and presentation night drew more than 350 to the Maryborough Highland Society.

Guests were entertained by 1990 Collingwood premiership star and mercurial forward Peter Daicos, and comedian Mick Nevin.

The Max Martin Administrator of the Year  award was presented to Luke Calder, a driving force as secretary at Avoca Football Netball Club.

Carisbrook scored 443.95 points to win the Carlton FC Club Championship perpetual shield ahead of Navarre, 407.89, and Natte Bealiba, 385.72.

Life membership was awarded to Newstead’s Deb Worland and Trentham’s Vin Cowell.

Other award winners in he Bendigo Bank-backed MCDFNL for 2012:

Senior goalkicking – 101 Matthew Brown (Lexton), 73 Nathan Wright (Carisbrook), 71  Ty Priest (Trentham) 71.

Rookie of the Year –  Campbells Creek’s Jordan Gilboy and Navarre’s Daniel Reading, and Maldon’s Rebecca McKnight.

Reserves best and fairest – 16 Brad Wardlaw (Avoca), 12 Wayne Bell (Maldon), Brayden Collicoat (Carisbrook), Steve Dellavedova (Carisbrook) and David Impey (Lexton).

Reserves goalkicking – 69 Shane Jeffrey (Talbot), 68 Brandon Weatherson (Carisbrook).

Netball goalscoring awards were won by: Harcourt’s Hayley Mawson, 304 in C-grade; Harcourt’s Suzi Rinaldi, 532 in B-grade; and Avoca’s Colleen Drummond, 576 in A-grade.

Placegetters in the league netball best and fairest awards:

B-grade: 22 Amanda Durbridge, Carisbrook and Kim Tiley, Lexton; 20 Suzi Rinaldi, Harcourt.

C-grade: 26 Kate Balzan, Royal Park; 24 Phoebe Snep, Newstead; 22 Cass Carter, Natte Bealiba.  

A-grade netball best and fairest runner-up Krystal Fisher with winner Ashlee Lierich.

A-grade netball best and fairest runner-up Krystal Fisher with winner Ashlee Lierich.


Discuss "Harcourt's Chaplin wins MCDFL's top honour"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.