Top juniors head to Bendigo

AUSTRALIA'S best 12-and-under soccer players will converge on Bendigo next month for the School Sport Australia championships. 

The top boys and girls teams from across the country will take to the pitch, all vying to be crowned national champions. 

New South Wales, Australian Capital Territory, Northern Territory, Queensland, South Australia and Western Australia will all field teams in the premier schools competition. 

States and Territories will go head-to-head in eight games across four days with the opening ceremony being held at the Kevin Gibbons Field on September 14. 

The young guns will also take part in an educational excursion at the Central Deborah Gold Mine and Talking Tram.  

Students named in the team went through a vigorous selection trial, with the top 14 boys and 14 girls picked to represent the state. 

Players also took part in a compulsory state camp earlier this year.  

The tournament will be held at Epsom Huntly Recreation Reserve between September 14 and 19. 

The girls team, which will be coached by Cameron Heath includes: Annie Bissinella (Ballarat), Francesca Brand (Newlands), Alice Burke (Sandringham), Sienna Gidari (Caroline Springs), Kiara Hronopoulous (Bentleigh West), Alana Janecevski (Plenty Parklands), Kelly Lam (Essendon), Amy Lawton (Edrington), Sofia Sakalis (Livingstone), Natalie Scicluna (Strathmore), Isabella Sewards (Hampden), Zarli VandenBerg (Monbulk), Leia Varley (Goulbourn Valley) and Paige Zois (Ivanhoe). 

The boys team, which will be coached by Adrian Mazzarella includes: Jordan Bos (Point Cook), Maxwell Branov (Clifton Hill), Stefan Brecevic (Bulleen), Benjamen Cantarella (Keilor), Guillaume Matteo Chinapen (Point Cook), Aiden Cole-Stewart (Kingsville), Benjamin De Lacy-Turner (Maribyrnong), Luke Duzel (Keilor North), Carlos Karam (Mulgrave), Birkan Kirdar (Maribyrnong), Anthony Leban (Bell Park), Luca Tevere (Mont Albert), James Tountas (Hawthorn) and Joshua Varga (Noble Park).


Discuss "Top juniors head to Bendigo"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.