Herbert named in Aussie squad for Eisenhower Trophy

BENDIGO golfer Lucas Herbert has been selected to represent Australia at next month’s Eisenhower Trophy in Japan.

SHORT GAME: Lucas Herbert will play for Australia against the world's best amateur golfers.

SHORT GAME: Lucas Herbert will play for Australia against the world's best amateur golfers.

Herbert will play alongside Victorian duo Ryan Ruffels and Geoff Drakeford in amateur golf’s most prestigious team event.

The Aussies will tee-off against more than 50 nations at the Prince Hotel Resort in Karuizawa in Japan.

The Eisenhower Trophy is played every two years.

Each team, which has two or three players, plays 18 holes of stroke play for four days.

 In each round, the total of the two lowest scores from each team constitutes the team score for the round. The four-day total is the team’s score for the championship.

Australia hasn’t won the Eisenhower Trophy since 1996 when Jamie Crow, David Gleeson, Jarrod Moseley and Brett Partridge combined to beat the world’s best.

United States won the last Eisenhower Trophy in 2012 in Turkey, with Australia finishing 15th.

Some of the world’s best professionals played in the Eisenhower Trophy in their amateur careers.

Jack Nicklaus still holds the individual scoring record of 269 from when he played in 1960.

Tiger Woods (1994), Phil Mickelson (1990), Rory McIroy (2006), Sergio Garcia (1996-98) and Martin Kaymer (2004) are just some of the other big names who have played in the event.

At the completion of the Eisenhower Trophy, Herbert will stay in Japan to play against professionals in the Asia-Pacific Diamond Cup.

Herbert earned an invitation to the event on the back of finishing fourth in last year’s Asian Amateur Championship.

The trip to Japan means Herbert will miss next month's inaugural Neangar Park Pro-Am.

Ryan Ruffels

Ryan Ruffels

Geoff Drakeford

Geoff Drakeford


Discuss "Herbert named in Aussie squad for Eisenhower Trophy"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.