PICTURES: RAW Arts Award winners announced

GREATER Bendigo's RAW Arts Award is a competition that has attracted 88 young adults aged from 12 to 24. 

City of Greater Bendigo Mayor Barry Lyons announced the winners this week. 

William Archibald won the performing arts scholarship and James Earl was highly commended. 

Gemma Simpson won the literature award and Shantara Johnstone was highly commended; Isaebella Doherty received the digital media prize and Jasper Turpie was highly commended; while Sarah Edwards earned the visual arts acquisitive award and Seth Dyett was highly commended. 

"We wanted to provide the opportunity for young people to profile their work, receive public and financial recognition and support further studies in their chosen arts field," Cr Lyons said.

“We certainly have some talented young people in our region and we hope the awards inspire them to pursue their art into the future.

”I encourage everyone to take some time to visit the exhibition and support our young emerging artists.”

The awards offer prizes in four categories. The winners of each award receive $1000 and highly commended receives $250.

These works are on display at the Dudley House and are available to inspect between 10am and 4pm until June 1.


Discuss "PICTURES: RAW Arts Award winners announced"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.