Aussie stars to ride in Madison

REIGNING Oceania champions Luke Davison and Alex Edmondson will join forces in next month’s Bendigo International Madison track cycling classic.

The exciting duo will pit their skills against a field that includes world championship winners Kenny de Ketele and Franco Marvulli at the Tom Flood Sports Centre on Sunday, March 10.

Sponsored by McCaig Airconditioning and supported by Daikin Airconditioning, the 42nd edition of the great race has drawn stars from Germany, The Netherlands, New Zealand, and across Australia.

Davison and Edmondson are based at the South Australia Sports Institute where Tim Decker, a Bendigo International Madison winner, is coach.

Highs for Edmondson in 2012 included being in the Australian Cyclones team at the London Olympics.

The 19-year-old won gold in the points score and teams pursuit at this month’s Australian track cycling titles on Sydney’s Dunc Gray Velodrome.

Davison was in the SA line-up which gold in the teams pursuit.

The 22-year-old from New South Wales won last year’s national road series and won stage two in this year’s Jayco Herald-Sun Tour.

The 200-lap madison is the finale to the athletics-cycling carnival which includes the City of Greater Bendigo Thousand (120m) sprint classic, Black Opal 400m for men, Black Pearl 400m for women, and the backmarkers mile.

Among the many highlights on the cycling program are the Frank McCaig Memorial Wheelrace at Thursday night’s track racing, the Friday night criterium in the CBD, the Golden Mile Wheelrace and Bill McLachlan Memorial Aces scratch race.

This year’s carnival will include a women’s madison for the first time on the Saturday night. A seven-team field includes Bendigo stars Kate Finegan, Toni Abbisogni, Imogen and Marquessa Jelbart.

Bendigo clubmates Todd Schintler and Brendan Schultz, who teamed up to win last weekend’s Victorian Madison at Marty Busch Reserve in Sebastapol, are in the Bendigo field, but not as team-mates.

At the end of the 100-lap contest for the state title, Schintler and Schultz were on 17 points and a lap clear of runners-up, Bendigo’s Mark Flood and Tasmania’s Mark Jamieson.

The women’s 50-lap madison was won by Bendigo’s Toni Abbisogni and Macedon Ranges’ Lauretta Hanson, 16 points, from Bendigo sisters Imogen and Marquessa Jelbart, 14 points, one lap down.

Teams for the Bendigo International Madison, subject to change:

Franco Marvulli (Switzerland) and Nick Stopler (Netherlands), Leif Lampater and Christian Grassman (Germany), Todd Schintler (Bendigo) and Mark Jamieson (Tasmania), Jay Dutton and Nick Yallouris (NSW), Kenny de Ketele (Belgium) and Roy Pieters (Netherlands), Ben Harvey and Nathan Bradshaw (NSW), Hayden Bradbury and Cameron Parvleit (Victoria), Shane Archbold and Marc Ryan (New Zealand), George Tansley and Miles Scotson (South Australia), Brendan Schultz (Bendigo) and Tyler Spurrell (Victoria), Alex Edmondson (South Australia) and Luke Davison (NSW), Josh Harrison (South Australia) and Sam Wellsford (WA), Sean Finning (Castlemaine) and Luke Parker (Victoria), Jack Edwards and Brad Heffernan (NSW), Scott Law and Aaron Donnelly (Victoria).

Teams for the women’s madison:

Ashley Akudinoff (NSW) and Bella King (WA), Kate Finegan (Bendigo) and Jess Mundy (SA), Stacey Reidel and Alex Manley (SA), Imogen and Marquessa Jelbart (Bendigo), Toni Abbisogni (Bendigo) and Lauretta Hanson (Victoria), Georgia Baker and Lauren Pery (Tasmania), Macey Stuar

YOUNG GUN: Alex Edmondson in his London Olympics cycling colours.  Picture: GETTY

YOUNG GUN: Alex Edmondson in his London Olympics cycling colours. Picture: GETTY


Discuss "Aussie stars to ride in Madison"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.