Young guns honoured in Bendigo

CYCLIST George Tansley and golfer Lucas Herbert are the winners for December and January in the bankmecu-backed Bendigo Advertiser-WIN Television Sports Star of the Year award.

Tansley and Herbert are in a field of 14 vying for the prestigious title.

In December, Tansley teamed with Miles Scotson to win the Australian Madison Championship at Darebin.

The South Australia Sports Institute team-mates were second to world madison titleholder Kenny De Ketele and Geelong’s Leigh Howard, but were the highest placed all-Australian team.

From Mandurang, Tansley marked a successful return to Bendigo’s Tom Flood Sports Centre by winning the Lindsay Harrington Memorial Wheelrace at the Christmas carnival.

Herbert hit off the year by being joint runner-up in his first professional golf tournament, The Heritage Classic.

The young gun from Ravenswood narrowly missed a putt which would have clinched overall honours, but finished the event at 14-under. He achieved a course record score of 67 on Heritage’s Henley course in pre-qualifying for the Classic.

Herbert headed off to South Africa earlier this week to represent Australia in the Ten Nations Cup for amateurs.

The teenager was joint recipient of the Cyril Michelsen Trust Fund award at Sports Star in 2010-11.

The 48th annual Sports Star of the Year presentation is on Friday, March 1 in The Conservatory at All Seasons Bendigo from 6pm.

Special guest speaker will be Olympic swimmer Brooke Hanson.

Highlights of the night include the naming of the Maxine Crouch and Cyril Michelsen trust fund award winners, Hall of Fame induction, and the Sports Focus Sports Adminstrator of the Year award.

The 2012-13 Sports Star of the Year finalists:

February, 2012: Ross Smith and Glenn Warfe (badminton). March, 2012: Matthew Dellavedova (basketball).

April, 2012: Glenn O’Shea (cycling) and Nash Rawiller (gallops).

May, 2012: Michaela Perceval (AFL). June, 2012: Bryan Jolly (judo).

July, 2012: Helen Kostadinos (drug-free powerlifting) and Grant Weeks (AFL). 

August, 2012: Zoe Boldiston (race walking).

September, 2012: Shelley Chaplin (basketball). October, 2012: Lachlan Norris (cycling).

November, 2012: no award. December, 2012: George Tansley (cycling). January, 2013: Lucas Herbert (golf).

Young golfer Lucas Herbert playing at Neangar Park. Picture: JIM ALDERSEY

Young golfer Lucas Herbert playing at Neangar Park. Picture: JIM ALDERSEY


Discuss "Young guns honoured in Bendigo"

Please note: All comments made or shown here are bound by the Online Discussion Terms & Conditions.