New-look TAC Cup draw for Bendigo Pioneers

A triple-header at the QEO, a Friday night home game under lights and a new wildcard round highlight the Bendigo Pioneers’ 2018 TAC Cup draw.

The Pioneers kick-off 2018 with an away game against the Greater Western Victoria Rebels in Ballarat on Saturday, March 24.

They tackle the Murray Bushrangers at Punt Road on Good Friday in round two before hosting their first home game at the QEO in round three as part of a TAC Cup triple-header.

The Pioneers play Gippsland at 10am on April 7, while the Dandenong Stingrays and GWV Rebels will play at 12.30pm and the Geelong Falcons and Murrah Bushrangers will round out the day from 3pm.

For the second year in succession, the Pioneers will play the Oakleigh Chargers under lights on a Friday night.

The teams will meet in round four on Friday, April 20.

The Pioneers play the Bushrangers at the QEO in round nine on June 17, before a return clash with the Rebels on at the QEO on Sunday, July 8.

The Pioneers host Geelong at the QEO in round 14 before finishing the home and away season at the QEO in round 16 against the Western Jets.

The top four teams on the TAC Cup ladder advance straight to the finals, while the bottom eight teams will play in a wildcard round on the weekend of September 1-2.

The four winners of the wildcard round matches advance to elimination finals against the top four teams on September 8-9.

The four winners of the elimination finals go through to the preliminary finals on September 15-16, with the grand final to be played on the weekend of September 22-23.

Bendigo Pioneers’ fixture for 2018:

Rd 1 – Saturday, March 24 v GWV Rebels at Ballarat, 2pm.

Rd 2 – Friday, March 30 v Murray Bushrangers at Punt Rd, 3pm.

Rd 3 – Saturday, April 7 v Gippsland Power at QEO, 10am.

Rd 4 – Friday, April 20 v Oakleigh Chargers at QEO, 7pm.

Rd 5 – Sunday, April 29 v Northern Knights at Preston, 2.30pm.

Rd 6 –  Saturday, May 12 v Calder Cannons at Craigieburn, 4.30pm.

Rd 7 – Sunday, May 20 v Eastern Rangers at Box Hill, 2pm.

Rd 8 – Saturday, June 2 v Western Jets at Williamstown, 2.15pm.

Rd 9 – Sunday, June 17 v Murray Bushrangers at QEO, 1pm.

Rd 10 – Saturday, June 23 v Gippsland Power at Punt Rd, 1.30pm.

Rd 11 – Sunday, July 8 v GWV Rebels at QEO, 1pm.

Rd 12 – Saturday, July 21 v Dandenong Stingrays at Dandenong, 1pm.

Rd 13 – Sunday, July 29 v Sandringham Dragons at Sandringham, 2.30pm.

Rd 14 – Sunday, August 5 v Geelong Falcons at QEO, 1pm.

Rd 15 – Saturday, August 18 v GWV Rebels at Ballarat, 3pm.

Rd 16 – Sunday, August 26 v Western Jets at QEO, 1pm.

Wildcard round – September 1-2: 8th v 9th, 7th v 10th, 6th v 11th, 5th v 12th.