Bendigo 2017 fire danger period announced

Much of central Victoria will enter the fire danger period within the next week, including the City of Greater Bendigo.

The CFA has announced the municipalities of Greater Bendigo, Central Goldfields and Mount Alexander will be subject to fire danger restrictions from Monday, November 20 until May 1 next year.

Campaspe and Loddon shires will enter the fire danger period on Friday, November 20, while Buloke North and Gannawarra are already subject to restrictions.

Read more: Total fire ban in state’s north

No date has yet been set for Buloke South or Macedon Ranges.

During the fire danger period, people may not light fires in the open air without a permit or without complying with certain requirements.

Restrictions on other activities also apply.

For more information on restrictions and the fire danger period, visit the CFA website.