Candidates prepare for council elections

STANDING: Mount Alexander Shire mayor Christine Henderson will contest the Coliban Ward against Bill Bayliss and Michael Reeves.

STANDING: Mount Alexander Shire mayor Christine Henderson will contest the Coliban Ward against Bill Bayliss and Michael Reeves.

Two wards in the Mount Alexander Shire Council will have councillors elected unopposed at the upcoming election.

Anthony Cordy is standing unopposed in the Calder Ward while John Nieman is unopposed in the Loddon River Ward.

Both wards have just one vacancy on the Mount Alexander council.

Mr Nieman will take over the Loddon River Ward from outgoing councillor Michael Redden.

Mr Cordy was elected to council in 2014 after a by-election was called to replace Tim Barber, who resigned because he moved away from the shire.

Mount Alexander deputy mayor Sharon Telford will stand against Stephen Gardner for the one vacancy in the Tarrengower Ward.

The single vacancy in the Coliban Ward will be contested by current mayor Christine Henderson as well as Bill Bayliss and Michael Reeves.

Three vacancies on the Castlemaine Ward should be hotly contested with eight people standing on the ballot.

Current councillors Tony Bell, Chris Cole and Bronwyn Machin are on the ballot with Robin Taylor, Susan Mayfair, Max Lesser, Jay Smith and Dave Petrusma.

At least three new councillors will be selected in the Campaspe Shire elections with Emma Bradbury, Carol Howell and Ian Maddison not standing again.

Vicki Neele, Henry Loguehaye-Hooper and Neil Repacholi will stand against current councillors John Zobec and Neil Pankhurst for the three vacancies in the Kyabram-Deakin Ward.

The Echuca Ward will be the most heavily contested in the Campaspe Shire with current councillor Paul Jarman standing for re-election alongside Daniel Mackrell, Peter Williams, Thomas Weyrich, Kristen Munro, Annie Vickers, Eric Grumont and Rohan Burgess.

Current councillors Leigh Wilson, Adrian Weston and Leanne Pentreath will be re-elected unopposed in the single vacancy wards of Rochester, Waranga and Western.

Central Goldfields Shire will see two-person battles in the Tullaroop and Flynn Wards.

Current councillor Robert Henderson and Costa Di Biase are standing for one vacancy in the Flynn Ward while Helen Broad (current) and Janine Perry are standing for the single vacancy in the Tullaroop ward.

The Paddy Ranges Ward is secure with Chris Meddows-Taylor the only candidate to nominate for the single vacancy.

The Maryborough ward has five candidates for its four vacancies with Gerard Murphy, Neil Arbuthnot, Paula Nixon, Geoff Lovett and Wendy McIvor all standing.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide