Gippsland names strong squad for clash with BFNL

UPDATE: GIPPSLAND Football League's training squad to play Bendigo in the Worksafe Country Championships contains just eight players who took on the Blue and Gold in 2012.

BATTLE FOR THE BALL: Action from the Bendigo versus Gippsland clash at the QEO in 2012. Picture: MATT KIMPTON

BATTLE FOR THE BALL: Action from the Bendigo versus Gippsland clash at the QEO in 2012. Picture: MATT KIMPTON

Gippsland has a squad of 38, with full forward Matthew Ferguson, midfielders Aaron Ware, Luke Collins, Kane Martin, Ryan Pendlebury, James Blaser, full-back Andrew Quick and half-back flanker Tom Long the surviving members of the team which lost to Bendigo by 23 points at the QEO.

Bendigo Gold-listed midfielder Tom Hams has been named in the Gippsland squad.

The classy left footer was to return  to the Bendigo Gold line-up this weekend but has pulled out.

VFL-aligned players must have played two club games to be eligible for inter-league.

Hams, who was one of the BFNL's best players in the win over Gippsland two years ago, has played three games for GFL power Sale this season.

In his three games for unbeaten Sale, the former South Bendigo star has been best on ground twice.

Sale has nine players in the squad, including Ryan Pendlebury, brother of Collingwood captain Scott Pendlebury.

Ryan Pendlebury was on the Bendigo Gold's list in 2013, but is now aligned with Collingwood's VFL team.

Former St Kilda key position player Matthew Ferguson is another of Sale's key players to be named in the squad.

Ferguson is one of three in-form forwards named in the Gippsland squad.

Maffra's Darren Sheen (25 goals this season),  Ferguson (17) and Traralgon's Tim Johnston (17) are in the top four goalkickers in the GFL.

Gippsland will be coached by former Castlemaine midfielder Harmit Singh.

Singh coaches the top of the ladder Morwell side. The Tigers have five players in the squad.

Gippsland's inter-league squad:

Bairnsdale: Wesley Russell, Stephen Henshaw, Luke Dyer, Alex Saunders.

Sale: Andrew Quirk, Ryan Pendlebury, Tom Hams, Kane Martin, Matthew Ferguson, Jack Lipman, John Gooch, Mitchell Davis, Luke Collins.

Traralgon: Michael Stockdale, Tim Northe, Michael Geary, Tim Johnston, Jayden Steers.

Maffra: Darren Sheen, Daniel Bedggood, Kelvin Porter, Brent Connelly.       

Morwell: Dean MacDonald, Mannon Johnston, Ben Kearns, Harmit Singh, Tom Hutton.

Moe: James Blaser, Tom Long.

Warragul: Chris Carey, Brad Scalzo.

Wonthaggi: Aiden Lindsay, Aaron Ware, Jack Blair.

Leongatha: Chris Verboon, Zac Vernon, Chris Bruns.

Drouin: Luke Duffy.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide