Tough calls made on inter-league squad

RICK Ladson makes no apologies for making some "tough decisions" after the BFNL inter-league squad was cut to 36 players.

The BFNL coach released the squad on Monday, with in-form Sandhurst small defender Codie Price, Golden Square duo Dale Young and Dale Lowry, Kangaroo Flat's Corey Greer and Strathfieldsaye's Matthew Ladson amongst the omissions.

IN FORM: Gisborne defender Tim Walsh is on track to make his inter-league debut.

IN FORM: Gisborne defender Tim Walsh is on track to make his inter-league debut.

"You can't fit 73 players into a final team of 23,'' Ladson said.

"It's tough. Some hard decisions have had to be made on some players. It's nothing personal... we have a very good squad and some players are very stiff to miss out.

"Players who haven't made the group of 36 are not out of contention. There's another round of club matches to go and who knows what could happen with injuries."

The squad of 36 will train at MyJet Oval in Golden Square on Wendesday night.

Two players who are unlikely to train are Golden Square duo Clayton Anderson and Hamish Morcom.

Both missed last Saturday's win over Maryborough with injury and Square coach Nick Carter said on Sunday the dup were "touch and go" to be available for this Sunday's crucial clash with Eaglehawk.

If fit, Anderson and Morcom would appear to be certain starters in the BFNL's final team of 23 for the May 24 clash with Gippsland at the QEO.

"We'll give them every chance to be right,'' Ladson said.

"They've both been in good form and they've both performed well at inter-league level in the past."

Ladson and his selectors have plenty of flexibility with their squad of 36.

"I'm big on having players who can play different roles,'' Ladson said.

"With a final team of 23 it allows us to carry an extra tall on the bench."

BFNL training squad of 36:

Kyneton - Ben Weightman, Jordan Collins, Hayden Wright.

Sandhurst Matt Thornton, Ryan Maldenis, Tim Martin, Mitch Dole, Nick Stagg, Ryan Haythorpe, Harrison O'Meara, Lee Coghlan.

Gisborne - Tim Walsh, Tom Waters, Ben Sonogan, Ollie Messaoudi.

Golden Square Hamish Morcom, Jackson Geary, Clayton Anderson, Jonathon Coe, Lachlan Woodward, Corey Jones, Jack Daley.

Kangaroo Flat - James Saville, Cameron Rinaldi, Nick Lang, Dylan Clohesy.

Maryborough - Tyson MacIlwain.

Eaglehawk - Brodie Filo, Tyler Miles.

Strathfieldsaye - Jake Hall, Ash Trollop, Stephen Milne, Shannon Geary, Nick Smith, Tom Dowd.

South Bendigo - Ash Morris.

Adam Bourke's inter-league team:

B: Tim Walsh, Ash Trollop, Clayton Anderson.

Hb: Tyler Miles, Tyson MacIlwain, Jon Coe

C: Jack Geary, Ryan Maldenis, Nick Smith

Hf: Ben Weightman, Ben Sonogan, Corey Jones

F: Stephen Milne, Cam Rinaldi, Mitch Dole

Foll: Tim Martin, Ollie Messaoudi, Brodie Filo

Inter: Tom Waters, Lee Coghlan, Nick Stagg, Harry O'Meara,  Hamish Morcom.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide