Stepien voted best at Demons

GUN batsman and wicket-keeper Brayden Stepien capped a superb summer by being named White Hills Cricket Club's champion player at Friday night's awards presentation.

A star in the Demons' first XI and under-17 team, Stepien scored 576 points. 

The talented teenager represented Bendigo Colts at Bendigo Bank Country Cricket Week in January.

The awards night in the KWD Oval social rooms honoured the on and off-field contributors in a season where White Hills made dramatic progress.

White Hills leapt from 10th place at the end of the previous season to be fifth in 2013-14. The Daniel Larke-skippered Demons missed the finals on perecentage.

The Lincoln Jacobs-second XI played finals for the first time in more than a decade.

Special recognition was paid to the under-17 premiership team.

White Hills has won the under-17 flag three times in the past four seasons.

After coaching the senior teams the past two seasons, Brendan Slattery has decided to take a break.

Slattery has played a key role in the development of many of the talented youngsters at White Hills.

The BDCA’s under-21 and under-18 champion players Rhys Irwin and Brayden Stepien won multiple club awards.

Stepien won batting awards in under-17 and first XI and the club's champion player award on 576 points from Welsh import Gareth Davies on 482 points.

Irwin tied with Travis Colley for the bowling award and also took out the umpires votes and Daniel Larke’s Captains award.

Joel Logan capped his first season at the club by earning the coaches award.

Club president, life member and under-17 premiership-winning coach Jock Schofield was presented with the Leo Palmer Memorial award for Best Clubman.

BDCA under-17 award winners were James Bailey, bowling average; Brayden Stepien, representative player; and Tallis Miles, Bill Lienhop umpires award.

White Hills Cricket Club award winners for the 2013-14 season:

First XI:

Brayden Stepien, 446 runs at 37.

Bowling aggregate: Rhys Irwin 23 wickets at 22, Travis Colley 23 wickets at 19.

Umpires voters: Rhys Irwin.

Captain's award: Rhys Irwin.

T20 player of season: Gareth Davies.

Second XI:

Batting aggregate: Tom Dunham.

Bowling aggregate: Josh Matthews.

Umpires votes: Nick Wharton.

Captain's award: Justin Slattery.

Third XI:

Batting aggregate: Jeff Kay.

Bowling aggregate: Jeff Kay.

Umpires votes: Jeff Kay.

Captain's award: Damien Nowell.


Batting aggregate: Brayden Stepien.

Bowling aggregate: Troy Williams.

Coaches award: Matt Wilson.

Demon Spirit award: Tallis Miles.

Player of finals series: Brayden Stepien. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide