It was raining medals at Vic crit carnival

BENDIGO cyclists shrugged off early showers to star on the road at the Victorian junior and masters criterium championships last Sunday.

Racing was delayed by an hour because of the rain and organisers reversed the circuit around the main streets of Harcourt for safety and shortened some of the events to get the program back on track.

In the younger age groups, Bendigo and District Cycling Club members were at the front of the field and several finished with medals for their efforts.

Belinda Bailey won silver and Ruby McLean claimed bronze in the under-11 girls race, while Zane Taylor was second in the under-11 boys.

In the under-13 boys event, Bendigo scored the quinella when Alexander Allott crossed the finish line in first, ahead of club-mate Blake Agnoletto second.

Under-13 rider Amber Lyons also rode well for her second place, while Sarah McLennan won bronze in the under-15 category.

The masters classes also included several Bendigo podium finishes.

Building Champions Squad rider Nicole McNamara was second in women's masters one, while Cheryle Barker brought home the gold in women's masters six.

In the men's masters three, Peter Casey was second and Kris Gill third.

Castlemaine riders to win medals were Harrison D'Arcy (3rd in JB11) and Nicholas Simpson (3rd JM17).

The carnival, hosted by the Castlemaine Cycling Club, featured two drawcard events - the Showmen's and Showwomen's Criterium races.

Macedon Ranges superstar Lauretta Hanson lapped the field to easily win the women's title, with Bendigo's Tayla Evans taking out the battle for second place ahead of Emma Pane.

Men's race favourite Darren Lapthorne, from Bendigo, performed a similarly impressive solo ride, breaking away from a small leading bunch to claim victory from Benjamin Pascall. 

Fellow Bendigonian Robbie Hucker finished third.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide