BDCA REVIEW: Kangaroo Flat

Finished: 10th – 1-12.

Round-by-round ladder position: 10th, 9th, 9th, 9th, 7th, 8th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 10th, 10th, 10th, 10th.

Twenty20 tournament: 3rd in Section 1 – Adam Burns 112 runs, Tim Robertson 6 wickets.

Most BDCA Cricketer of the Year votes: Adam Burns (8).

Most Bendigo Advertiser-Bicknells votes: Adam Burns (21).

Addy Team of the Year: Nil.

Highest score: 102 – Steve Newlan, v Bendigo, round 5.

Best bowling: 6-13 – Adam Burns, v White Hills, round 13.

BITTERLY disappointing season for Kangaroo Flat, which won just one game and finished on the bottom of the ladder.

That’s now six years in a row Kangaroo Flat has missed the finals since playing off against Bendigo United in the 2008 grand final.

The Roos would have entered the season full of optimism they could improve on last summer’s five wins when they finished off strongly.

But they never got out of the starting blocks after losing their first four games.

Their first and only win of the season came against Bendigo in round five when they belted the Goers by 104 runs, highlighted by a century to 49-year-old Steve Newlan.

The Roos still have an unhealthy reliance on the all-round talent of captain Adam Burns (329 runs and 23 wickets), who this season was awarded life membership at Kangaroo Flat.

One of the major positives was the performance of young batsman Lachlan Shelton, who topped the Roos’ runs with 349, batting mainly at No.3 in his breakout season.

Josh Newlan (276 runs) also played some encouraging innings opening the batting for the Roos, who will be keen to shake things up next season in a bid to climb the ladder.



Lachlan Shelton - 349 runs @ 26.8

Adam Burns - 329 runs @ 27.4

Josh Newlan - 276 runs @ 21.2

Daniel Barber - 235 runs @ 16.8

Brent Hamblin - 220 runs @ 18.3


Adam Burns - 23 wickets @ 22.4

Tim Robertson - 16 wickets @ 22.3

Brent Hamblin - 16 wickets @ 29.1

Chris Barber - 15 wickets @ 34.5

Liam Jones - 9 wickets @ 46.4

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide