BDCA REVIEW: White Hills

Finished: 5th – 8-4-1.

Round-by-round ladder position: 3rd, 2nd, 2nd, 4th, 5th, 5th, 4th, 3rd, 2nd, 3rd, 5th, 5th, 5th.

Twenty20 tournament: 5th in Section 2 – Jack Hebron 78 runs, Gareth Davies 7 wickets.

Most BDCA Cricketer of the Year votes: Rhys Irwin (9).

Most Bendigo Advertiser-Bicknells votes: Gareth Davies (22).

Addy Team of the Year: Brayden Stepien.

Highest score: 95 – Brayden Stepien, v Kangaroo Flat, round 13.

Best bowling: 7-46 – Rhys Irwin, v Strathfieldsaye, round 3.

ANOTHER year - another season out of the finals for White Hills.

But this will sting more so than ever before for the Demons, whose last finals appearance remains 1999.

Starting with the positive this season for White Hills is they showed major improvement to finish fifth with eight wins after last summer’s wooden-spoon.

The negative, though, is the Demons should have played finals.

They spent eight rounds inside the top four, including as high as second after round nine.

But they faltered late in the season - not for the first time in recent years - and were again on-lookers come finals.

What rubs more salt into the wounds for the Demons, who were good enough to defeat premier Bendigo United, is that not only did they finish percentage off third position, they lost two games by one wicket - to Golden Square and Bendigo.

The Demons went down the international path with three overseas recruits, but only all-rounder Gareth Davies lasted the season.

Young keeper-batsman Brayden Stepien again proved himself as a player of the future with 446 runs, while Rhys Irwin (23 wickets and 203 runs) also impressed.



Brayden Stepien - 446 runs @ 37.2

Gareth Davies - 312 runs @ 28.4

Sam Stagg - 240 runs @ 18.5

Rhys Irwin - 203 runs @ 22.6

Daniel Larke - 202 runs @ 15.5


Travis Colley - 23 wickets @ 19.1

Rhys Irwin - 23 wickets @ 22.1

Jake Foley - 19 wickets @ 19.5

Gareth Davies - 13 wickets @ 19.5

Glenn Roulston - 9 wickets @ 20.1

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide