BDCA REVIEW: Eaglehawk

Finished: 4th – 8-4-2.

Round-by-round ladder position: 4th, 3rd, 3rd, 2nd, 3rd, 4th, 5th, 5th, 4th, 5th, 4th, 4th, 4th.

Twenty20 tournament: Beaten in semi-final – Zac East 154 runs, Sam Fitt 10 wickets.

Most BDCA Cricketer of the Year votes: Cory Jacobs, Aaron Monro, Andrew Smith (9).

Most Bendigo Advertiser-Bicknells votes: Andrew Smith (25).

Addy Team of the Year: Nil.

Highest score: 101 – Jason Abbott, v White Hills, round 6.

Best bowling: 7-64 – Andrew Smith, v White Hills, round 6.

IT was a rollercoaster of a season for Eaglehawk that ultimately ended when it was on the wrong end of a rain-affected semi-final draw with Golden Square.

The Hawks started the season with four wins on the trot, including a victory in round two that ended Strathdale-Maristians’ 26-game winning streak.

However, they lost their way between rounds five and seven with three-consecutive defeats as they tumbled out of the top four.

The Hawks then regrouped and lost just one of their last six games heading into the finals.

The Hawks’ batting was a source of frustration at times - particularly between rounds five and seven when they had just four scores above 30 in the 30 wickets they lost and struggled against opposition spinners - but it improved as the summer wore on.

Which makes it all the more disappointing for the Hawks that they didn’t get a crack with the bat in the semi-final.

Cory Jacobs produced his best season with the ball for the Hawks, taking 25 wickets, while also contributing 209 runs.

Veteran Andrew Smith didn’t dominate games like he has in the past, but still combined 311 runs with 23 wickets.



Anthony West - 359 runs @ 27.6

Jason Abbott - 326 runs @ 29.6

Andrew Smith - 311 runs @ 25.9

Cory Jacobs - 209 runs @ 23.2

Aaron Monro - 195 runs @ 24.4


Cory Jacobs - 25 wickets @ 19.6

Andrew Smith - 23 wickets @ 22.8

Aaron Monro - 21 wickets @ 23.2

 Cam McGlashan - 14 wickets @ 20.5

Shane Taylor - 10 wickets @ 17.9

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide