Bendigo kayakers win big

THE Victorian Marathon Championships were held at the weekend, with several Bendigo paddlers taking to the water. 

The two-day event saw more than 120 competitors take part with day one of the competition held in Essendon and day two was held in Footscray. 

Bendigo Canoe Club president Andrew Morrall the competition was tough. 

He said the Bendigo team had won four gold, two silver and one bronze medal. 

“Current under-14 Victorian champion Sean Jones held onto his title for the second year running with a convincing win by more than three minutes over second place," Morrall said. 

“Sisters Kristy Packham and Cass Murphy teamed up to win gold in the open ladies K2 while Leigh Murphy and Matt Beale won gold in the Vet 35 K2."

Under-12 competitor Baydn Murphy won gold and Thomas Chisholm won silver in the TK1 class. 

Emily Strahan-Ferrie also finished in second place in the under-12 TK1. 

Lucas Teasdale and Ben McLean won a bronze medal in the under-18 K2, Owen Hayden came seventh in the Vet 50 class and Madeline Jones was fourth in the under-16 K1. 

"The Bendigo representatives have been training hard for the championships and the results speak for themselves," he said. 

A number of Bendigo paddlers are expected to be selected in the Victorian team to compete at the Marathon National Championships in Ballarat on April 18. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide