Belmont four win top battle

BELMONT'S David Ross and his team-mates capped dramatic fightbacks to win Thursday night's fours title at Bendigo Bank Country Week bowls.

The Belmont quarter took on the Mark Eckel-skipped from Mildura in the grand final at Bendigo Bowling Club in Barnard Street.

Eckel racked up five shots on the first end.

The Belmont boys fought back to win five shots on the third end.

Scores were six-all going into the fifth and final end.

Belmont's team of Robin Hayes, Ron Stevens, Bruce Iddles and David Ross went a shot up early.

Despite a valiant attempt the Mildura line-up of Neville Mitchell, Geoff Westmore, Peter Mitchell and Mark Eckel could not dislodge the bowl.

Belmont's 7-6 victory followed a remarkable fightback from 5-1 down to win the semi-final, 6-5.

Eckel won the Pot of Gold title after a 28-1 victory in the preliminary rounds at Bendigo Bowling Club.

Semi-finals: M. Eckel (Mildura) d K. McClelland (Coughlin Park, Horsham) 7-2.

D. Ross (Belmont) d D. Larkin (Wunghnu) 6-5.

Quarter-final results:

K.McLelland (Coughlin Park, Horsham) d B. Gladman (Queenscliff) 5-4.

M. Eckel (Mildura) d G. Wright (Highton) 4-2.

D. Larkin (Wunghnu) d D. Minogue (Numurkah Golf) 5-2.

D. Ross (Belmont) d M. Curnow (Lake Boga) 3-2.

Scores from the round of 16 at Bendigo BC:

K. McClelland (Coughlin Park, Horsham) d Bucky Lehmann (Murray Downs) 6-1.

A. Sullivan (Hamilton) lt B. Gladman (Queenscliff) 7-1.

M. Eckel (Mildura) d A. White (Camperdown Golf) 6-3.

G. Wright (Highton) d T. Moore (Geelong Cement) 9-3.

G. Watt (Portland RSL) lt D. Larkin (Wunghnu) 4-2.

D. Minogue (Numurkah Golf) d A. Vanderhorst (Whittlesea) 7-1.

M. Curnow (Lake Boga) d A. Gallagher (Swan Hill Racecourse) 6-2.

I. Hall (Wedderburn) lt D. Ross (Belmont) 7-3.

Meanwhile, Highton's Neil Robinson and Kevin Smith won Wednesday night's pairs final.

Robinson-Smith advanced to the grand final after a hard-fought 5-4 victory in the semi-final clash with H. Colbert and B. Wilcock from Sebastapol.

Deniliquin's Shane Laing and Brian Kemnitz scored a 4-3 win in the semi-final clash with Yallourn's B. Daly and B. Rodgers.

The final showdown ended in a 5-4 win for Robinson-Smith and Laing-Kemnitz.

Bendigo East's Nick Davies and Brian Griffin made the most of home-green advantage to win the pairs Pot of Gold.

The Davies-skipped pair won the 14-end contest 42-2.

It was 42-nil on the last 13 ends in the match at Bendigo East Bowling Club. 

And, finals action in the Bendigo Bowls Division rolls on this weekend.

Eaglehawk and Golden Square play in Saturday's preliminary final.

The winner faces South Bendigo in Sunday's grand final.

EAGLEHAWK - Div. 5 (v Golden Square in tomorrow's preliminary final at Strathfieldsaye): F. Gay, L. Thatcher, G. Gibbs, P. Doherty (s); J. Wheare, B. Hussey, C. Pavletich, L. Morgan (s); C. Kirby, R. Hopgood, F. Kelly, N. Grenfell (s); W. Lourie, L. Sheldon, L. Vernon, K. Grenfell (s). Captain: B. Boyle.

GOLDEN SQUARE - Div. 5: not supplied.

SOUTH BENDIGO - Div. 5 (grand final on Sunday at Kangaroo against Eaglehawk or Golden Square): R. Wishart, C. Brown, E. Staff, G. Bacchin (s); T. Rasmussen, N. Ramage, J. Adams, F. Lean (s); K. Thies, S. McCallum, M. Runnalls, E. Bullow (s); B. Selwood, D. Conley, S. McMurray, D. Mellington (s). Captain: S. McMurray. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide