Spirit claims Victorian sport award

THE Bendigo Spirit were named the Women’s Team of the Year at Wednesday night’s Victorian Sport Awards at the MCG.

The Spirit won the award ahead of fellow finalists Victorian Fury (netball) and Lacrosse Victoria’s senior women’s team.

Spirit coach Bernie Harrower and star guard Kristi Harrower were presented with the trophy.

Past winners of the award include the Victorian women's cricket team, the women's Olympic aerial skiing team and the Melbourne Vixens netball team.

Earlier this month the Spirit won a second-straight Women’s National Basketball League championship, with a hard-fought 11-point win over the Townsville Fire at Bendigo Stadium.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide