Cracking field

STRATHFIELDSAYE Jets captain Ben Devanny is favourite to join an elite field at Wednesday night's Bendigo Cricketer of the Year awards.

A list of top contenders for the prestigious title includes a who's who of Bendigo District Cricket Association stars.

Those rated a red-hot chance include Strathdale-Maristians team-mates Ben DeAraugo and Cameron Taylor.

This summer, Devanny scored 472 runs and captured 29 wickets at 18.3.

The Jets all-rounder won the Bendigo Advertiser-Bicknell's Sports Player of the Year award.

Previous winners of the Cricketer of the Year crown, Cameron Taylor and Golden Square opening batsman Scott Johnson again played key roles with bat and ball in the 2013-14 season.

Johnson and Bendigo United's Ben Gunn and Matt Pinniger are tipped to poll well and will play in this weekend's grand final. 

Wednesday's function is at Kangaroo Flat Sports Club in Dower Park. Assembly at 6.30pm for a 7pm start. 

Classy cricketers vie for BDCA award

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide