New Zealand's Shane Archbold blitzes on Bendigo's track

NEW Zealand star Shane Archbold delivered an ominous warning to all Bendigo International Madison rivals in Saturday night's track cycling action.

A regular on the Bendigo track in recent years, Archbold capped night one of the track program by winning the Bill McLachlan Memorial Aces 20-lap scratch race.

Many of the madison stars contested one of the most exciting events on the program.

Archbold achieved back-to-back victories in the five-mile classic as he outsprinted Eaglehawk's own three-time world track champion Glenn O'Shea.

Third placegetter was Nick Yallouris ahead of Scott Law.

Archbold won in a time of 9 minutes 38.55 seconds.

Earlier in the night, Archbold raced off scratch and won the Gold and Opal Wheelrace (2000m) from Scott Law and Dylan Kennett.

The all-New Zealand team of Archbold and Kennett will be a serious contender in Sunday night's McCaig Airconditioning Daikin-backed Bendigo International Madison.

The 200-lap showdown is the finale to the athletics-cycling carnival.

Leading contenders include reigning champions Leif Lampater and Christian Grassman from Germany, dual winner O'Shea and South Australia's young gun Alex Edmondson, and the all-SASI team of George Tansley from Mandurang and world teams pursuit gold medallist Miles Scotson.

Sunday's program starts at 2.25pm and includes the finals of the City of Greater Bendigo Thousand 120m, Flack Advisory Black Pearl women's 400m, and Bendigo Bank Black Opal 400m.

Feature events on the cycling card include the Andy's Earthmovers Golden Mile, Oz Cranes invitation derby featuring Bendigo young gun Braeden Dean, and the WIN Television invitation kierin.  

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide