Administrators earn praise

HARDWORKING volunteers are in the running for the Sports Focus Administrator of the Year award.

Six finalists were selected from the local government sectors within the Sports Focus region.

The Sports Focus Administrator of the Year will be a highlight of this Friday night's 49th Bendigo Bank-backed Bendigo Advertiser-WIN Television Sports Star of the Year at the All Seasons Hotel.

Administrators selected in the final six are:

Stacey Hartwell, Royal Park Football Netball Club, Central Goldfields Shire.

Chris Jolme, Castlemaine Rifle Club, Mount Alexander Shire.

Leonie Lang, Gisborne Pony Club and Central Zone of Pony Clubs, Macedon Ranges Shire.

Colleen Rogers, Loddon Valley Football Netball League, Loddon Shire.

Mark Schumann, Kyabram Lawn Tennis Club, Shire of Campaspe.

Brent Yates, Strathfieldsaye Cricket Club, City of Greater Bendigo.

All finalists have played significant roles on or off the court, field, range or oval.

Sports Star night includes the induction/s to the Hall of Fame.

This year is the 20th anniversary since the Hall of Fame was established.

The inaugural inductees were Sandhurst Football Club's legendary coach of the 1930s, Bob McCaskill; lawn bowls champion Don Sherman; and 1956 Olympic Games gold medallist and swimming star Faith Leech.

A new award at Sports Star is the Faith Leech Achievement Award in recognition of the swimming champion who passed away last September.

The Maxine Crouch Trust Fund and Cyril Michelsen Trust Fund play a key role in helping talented youngsters continue their pursuit for more sporting glory. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide