BDCA sticking with the QEO

THE Bendigo District Cricket Association will stick with the Queen Elizabeth Oval as its first XI grand final venue this year.

The decision to play the grand final at the QEO and have the City of Greater Bendigo parks staff in charge of the curating comes a year after last season's grand final was marred by a wet wicket.

The state of the QEO wicket was the biggest talking point out of last year's grand final between Strathdale-Maristians and Eaglehawk, which the Suns won by 49 runs after they won the toss and bowled first.

The wicket was sub-standard after it was left uncovered when rain fell on the Wednesday night leading into the grand final.

Following the rain, the wicket didn't dry out enough by game-time and on what was a nightmare pitch for the batsmen, the Suns had the grand final won just half-an-hour into the second day.

"We understand it's going to be in the back of people's minds what happened last year with the QEO," BDCA president Wayne Walsh said on Saturday.

"But we also had a similar problem out at Kangaroo Flat (second XI grand final), so we hope we can get it right.

"We've got to be more vigilant that if rain is forecast during the week, we must make sure that the covers are on... simple as that.

"We hope that the council and club curators are fully aware of that.

"We don't want a repeat of last year."

BDCA grand finals are scheduled for March 22-23.

• BDCA grand final venues:

First XI - Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Second XI - Weeroona Oval.

Third XI - Canterbury Park.

Under-17 - Strathfieldsaye.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide