Cyclists in super start to the year

SUPERB feats on track and road have several cyclists in the running for January's award for the Bendigo Advertiser-WIN Television Sports Star of the Year. 

The judging panel for the awards, sponsored by Bendigo Bank, will meet Tuesday evening.

Those in hot form in January included Braeden Dean at the national track titles in Adelaide.

Dean won gold in the under-19s 1km time trial, keirin and team sprint.

Bendigo clubmate Beth Duryea was silver medallist in the women's open 10km scratch.

A three-time Sports Star of the Year, Glenn O'Shea won gold in the points score. O'Shea is ineligible for this award.

On the road, Jack Haig marked his first World Tour by earning the Best Young Rider award in the Tour Down Under through South Australia.

Zak Dempster was runner-up in the Bay Criterium cycling series.

Baseball ace Lachlan Jack earned the Golden Arm trophy at the national under-16 championships.

James Haythorne is among 24 hopefuls to represent Austrlaia at the Asian Youth volleyball titles in September.

Jameson Crawford won silver at the Australian junior beach volleyball championships.

Bendigo Harriers won the David Kitt Memorial Trophy for the third year running as the No.1 men's team at the Athletics Victoria country track and field titles.

Eaglehawk YMCA Athletics Club led the race for the Ex-Athletes Cup as No.1 women's team at the three-day championships in Ballarat.

Mitchell Hocking won the open 400m at the Maryborough Gift on New Year's Day. It was the third year in a row the Strathfieldsaye athlete had won at Princes Park.

Lonain Burnett won the open 400m at the Daylesford Gift run at Cricket Willow.

Fraser Walsh won the men's open title at the Echuca Triathlon. The battle was a 700m swim, 20km cycle and 5km run.

Huntly North Epsom beat Strathdale-Maristians in the Bendigo District Cricket Association's Twenty20 grand final at the QEO.

Already monthly winners for 2013-14, Peta Mullens and Lucas Herbert continued their great form.

Mullens was runner-up in the women's open criterium at the national road cycling championships in Ballarat.

Mullens was sprint queen in the Bay Criterium series.

Herbert played a a key role as Australia won the World Cup amateur teams event at Royal Melbourne.

Feats on road, track a January highlight

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide