Harriers Athletics Club wins big at annual championships

THE Bendigo Harriers men’s team have won their third straight David Kitt Memorial trophy at the weekend.

The men’s athletics team convincingly won the award ahead of Wendouree Athletic Club at the 2014 Victorian Country Championships held in Ballarat.

The Harriers finished on 799 points, 313 points higher than second place.

Bendigo Harriers Athletics Club president Geoff Jordan said he was really happy with how the whole team performed.

“It is always an honour to win the David Kitt award, especially because he was a former member of our club,” he said.

“He was a valued member of the Harriers.”

The Harriers also fell short by just 43 points in the overall team standings, with Athletics Chilwell winning the prestigious award.

“Our performances were encouraging,” Jordan said.

“It was a big effort from our team.”

Bendigo Harriers’ Jemuel Pryse was also awarded the Stuart Hunter Memorial Shield for his outstanding efforts in the under-16 events.

Pryse won gold in the shot put and the pole vault and also won silver in the high jump and triple jump.

The Eaglehawk YMCA female team also won the Ex Athletics Cup.

The three-day carnival attracted competitors from across the state.

Participants of all ages competed in the annual event. 

Jordan said the country championships was an event the Harriers looked forward to each year.

The Country Championships is one of the only chances we get to compete as a team,” he said.

"It is an individual sport but it is great to work together as a team."

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide