Huntly-North 6-138 d Strathdale 9-136

HUNTLY-North Epsom won its first Bendigo District Cricket Association Twenty20 title on Wednesday night.

A year after losing the T20 grand final to Strathfieldsaye, the Power proved too good for Strathdale-Maristians in a thrilling contest at the Queen Elizabeth Oval.

Chasing the Suns' 9-136, the Power won with two balls to spare, answering with 6-138.

Opening batsman Michael Hanson continued his outstanding T20 form for the Power, top-scoring with 51 off 48 (seven fours).

Hanson and Josh Collinson (22 off 20) put on 51 for the first wicket to get the Power off to a strong start in their chase.

Tyrone Downie later finished 10 n.o., hitting the winning runs off Jacob DeAraugo through mid-on.

Earlier, the Suns recovered from 3-12 in the third over to post 9-136.

Only Travis King (57 off 44, 10 fours), Ben DeAraugo (21 off 22) and Linton Jacobs (18 off 20) scored in double figures for the Suns.

Quinton Bentley (3-29) and captain Sam Johnston (3-25) took three wickets each for the Power.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide