Netball star is the guest of honour

NETBALL legend Sharelle McMahon will be the guest of honour at the Bendigo Advertiser-Win Television Sports Star of the Year awards.

The former Australian Diamonds goal shooter will be the special guest at the 49th annual awards.

The sporting awards are the longest running in regional Australia, with this year’s awards backed by the Bendigo Bank.

McMahon, from Bamawm, donned the green and gold 118 times. Only Liz Ellis has played more games for the Diamonds.

Her glittering netball career includes Commonwealth and world championship gold medals.

Bendigo Advertiser general manager Margot Falconer said McMahon had won two gold and two silver statutes from the Sports Star awards.

She was also inducted into the Sports Star Hall of Fame in 2008-2009.

“We are thrilled to have her come to the awards,” Mrs Falconer said.

Children and Early Childhood minister Wendy Lovell will also be a guest.

Awards to be presented on the night also include the Maxine Crouch Trust and Cyril Michelsen Trust.

This year’s Sports Star of the Year nominees include AFL stars Sam Kerridge, Joel Selwood and Ollie Wines, mountain bike competitor Peta Mullens, lawn bowler Aaron Wilson, NBA player Matthew Dellavedova and teams Bendigo Thunder and Bendigo Spirit.

Other nominees include swimmer Jenna Strauch, canoeist Rebecca Mann, netballer Caitlin Thwaites, weightlifter Troy Hewkins, BMX ace Jacqueline Wilson and golfer Lucas Herbert.

Mrs Falconer encouraged Bendigonians to help celebrate and applaud our local sporting heroes.

The gala ceremony will be held at the All Seasons on February 28.

Tickets cost $100 or a table of 10 for $900.

Tickets can be purchased from the Bendigo Advertiser office on Queen Street. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide