Brasher belts first century

VICTORIA'S Dylan Brasher scored the first century of the School Sport Australia 12-and-Under Cricket Championships on the final day of competition on Friday.

With Brasher blasting 110 retired, Victoria belted the Australian Capital Territory by 146 runs at the Queen Elizabeth Oval to end the carnival undefeated and win the Ricky Ponting Shield.

Brasher faced 124 balls in his innings and belted 17 fours, helping Victoria to 3-261 off its 50 overs.

Fellow opener John Britton also got among the runs for Victoria with 59 off 106 (five fours).

The ACT made 7-115, including a 70-run opening stand between Jay Allen (36 off 75, six fours) and Samuel Myburgh (23 off 98).

• New South Wales hung on in a thriller to beat Queensland by two runs at Weeroona Oval.

NSW compiled 8-163 batting first, which just proved enough as Queensland answered with 9-161.

William Fort dominated with the bat in making 70 off 96 (seven fours) for NSW, while Max Clayton (35 off 51, three fours) was the best of the Queensland batsmen.

Queensland's last-wicket pair of Samuel Neale (20 n.o. off 24) and Liam Cook (0 n.o. off 4) battled valiantly after coming together with the score at 9-142.

• South Australia finished second after a 117-run win over Northern Territory at North Bendigo.

Joshua Hoffman (60 off 115) and Tom Van der Jeugd (55 n.o. off 45, eight fours) both scored half-centuries for South Australia in its score of 197.

Northern Territory was bundled out for 80 in the 28th over in reply after losing its last five wickets for just seven runs.

Hoffman backed up his 60 with 3-14, while Riley Stone (25 off 69) worked hard to try to hold the Northern Territory innings together.

• In the girls division, New South Wales finished unbeaten to win the Grahame Barrett Shield.

NSW capped its dominant week with a nine-wicket win over South Australia at Golden Square.

NSW answered South Australia's 6-100 with 1-103, with the successful run-chase led by Isabelle Afaras (29 n.o. off 83), Olivia Porter (28 off 46) and Dahlia Glennie (24 off 43).

Earlier, Emma de Broughe batted well for South Australia in making 43 off 77 (five fours).

NSW's Rachel Trenaman picked up 3-22 off four overs.

• Victoria finished its carnival in devastating fashion, belting the ACT by 209 runs at Harry Trott Oval.

Victoria scored at 7.1 per over in making 2-251 off its 35 overs, with Annabel Sutherland (51 n.o. off 42, five fours), Madeline Stirling (51 n.o. off 54, five fours) and Lucy Cripps (51 n.o. off 55, five fours) all retiring with half-centuries.

The ACT could muster just 42 in reply, although, the innings lasted into the 33rd over.

Only Abigail Tosic (10 off 21) scored in double figures for the ACT, which had been 6-6 in its innings.

Cameron Butler put a high price on her wicket, facing 94 balls in 124 minutes for six n.o.

Victoria - which included Bendigo's Kate Douglass - finished third to earn a bronze medal.

• Queensland defeated Victoria Invitational by 103 runs at Bell Oval.

Queensland amassed 6-183 batting first, which included 50 n.o off 66 from Jamie Mills, who retired, 33 off 58 from fellow opener Charli Knott and a quickfire 30 off 19 (five fours) from No.9 Renee Irvine.

Victoria Invitational was restricted to 5-80 in its chase. Keira Morely (21) top-scored.

Tournament stats leaders:


Runs: Joshua Hoffman (SA) - 206.

Wickets: Alex Sidhu (NSW) - 11.


Runs: Rachel Trenaman (NSW) - 134.

Wickets: Sarah Grove (QLD) - 9.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide