NSW on track to win girls cricket title

A 35-run win over Queensland has put New South Wales in the box seat to claim the girls crown at the SSA 12-and-under Cricket Championships in Bendigo.

The defending champions didn't have it all their own way in the game at the QEO.

The Blues crashed to 4-17 early on and it took some fine batting from Rachel Trenaman (41 not out off 73 balls) and Jes Langford (30 off 34 balls) to lift their side to 9-120 off 35 overs.

Courtney Sippel (2-6 off seven overs) and Sarah Grove (2-11 off seven overs)did the damage for Queensland.

The Maroons looked like giving the target a real shake when they reached 23 without loss.

But three quick wickets swung the game back in NSW favour.

Jamie Mills (19) batted well for the Maroons, but they were eventually dismissed for 85.

 Hannah Darlington and Mariam Bank took two wickets each for NSW.

Victoria was too strong for Victoria Invitational at White Hills.

Teagan Brett 's unbeaten 50 was the mainstay of Victoria's total of 3-202. Bendigo's Kate Douglass made nine for Victoria.

Victoria Invitational did well to bat out their 35 overs, making 6-74.

Lucy Cripps took 3-10 for Victoria. Full batting details for Invitational were not supplied.

Emma de Broughe's unbeaten 52 was the highlight of South Australia's win over the ACT.

The Redbacks made 3-160 before dismissing the ACT for 54. Cameron Butler top scored with 11 for the ACT.

The championships continue on Thursday with round four action.

On Wednesday morning all boys and girls will be mixed into nuetral teams to play a series of T20 Blast matches at the QEO and Tom Flood Sports Centre.

On Wednesday afternoon the players will visit the Central Deborah Gold Mine and take a ride on Bendigo's talking trams as part of an educational excursion.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide