Burnett wins at the Willow

JUNORTOUN'S Lonain Burnett added to the winning streak for the John Knott-trained athletics squad at Saturday's running of the Daylesford Gift carnival.

Just days after running in the 400m final at the Maryborough Gift, Burnett won the 400m at  Cricket Willow near Shepherds Flat.

Burnett raced off 24m and won the Daylesford Builders-backed event in 50.513 seconds.

Runner-up was Moorolbark's Matthew McCauley, 35m, ahead of Lower Templestowe's Laurence Coop, 46m.

Feature event at the Run for the Willow carnival was the $2000 Telstra Daylesford Gift (100m).

North Lamberton's Marty Sinclair started off the 10.5m mark and won the sprint classic in 11.13 seconds from Jacana's David Fenollar, 8.25m, and Newcastle's Shaun Fletcher, 5m.

The other Gift finalists were Cam Dunbar, Nathan Fox and Adam Cabble.

Geelong's Angela Byrt raced off 1m and won the Priceline Pharmacy Ballarat women's 100m final in 12.63 seconds.

Ararat's Jacqueline Scott fought on to be second from the 17.5m mark. Scott also won the Roz Moynihan Memorial under-17 100m.

Shepparton's Josh Sait started off 185m and won the Victorian Cross-Country League's novice 1600m in 4:25.08 from Bendigo's Adam Parker, 220, 4:27.09.

Charlie Brooks from New South Wales won the 800m and Mick O'Connor 1600m.

Other winners at the Daylesford Gift meeting were Bikramjeet Singh, 70m; Leigh Rowbottom, veterans 300m; Danielle McDowell, women's 400m.

The Colin Lelean Memorial under-18 men's 100m was won by Brendan Glidden-Green.

Jenna Cartledge won the Beth Lelean Memorial under-18 women's 100m final. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide