Stephens in Gift contest

SPRINT King at the Daylesford Gift six years ago, Epsom's Glenn Stephens will chase more glory at Saturday's meeting.

Stephens is one of three previous winners of Daylesford's classic in the heats to be run at Cricket Willow near Shepherds Flat.

He will race off 12.25m in the fifth of eight heats.

Stephens won the 2008 final off 12.75m in 10.67.

This Saturday's meeting has drawn almost 400 competitors and starts at noon.

Feature event is the $2000 Telstra Daylesford Gift (100m).

The ninth Run for the Willow carnival includes races from 70m to 1600m. 

New South Wales athletes Brian Wright and Shaun Fletcher are previous winners of the sprint classic at Cricket Willow.

Wright is the reigning title holder and Fletcher holds the quickest winning time of 10.63 seconds in 2009.

Since 2005, the Run for the Willow carnival has raised more than $20,000 for Camp Quality and other causes.

Daylesford Gift winners - 2005:  Nathan Allen, Toowoomba. 2006: Sani Biao, Cameroon. 2008: Glenn Stephens, Bendigo. 2009: Shaun Fletcher, Newcastle. 2010: Shaun Hargreaves, Werribee. 2011: Bradley Letton, Camden. 2012: Shane Woodrow, Ballarat. 2013: Brian Wright, Sydney.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide