Aces in hot form at titles

BENDIGO teenagers Isaac Watson and Zac Lethlean are in great form leading into Friday's start to the Inter-Regional tennis championships at Creswick.

The rising stars shone at the Warrnambool Sungold grasscourt tournament, which ended on New Year's Day.

Both reached the semi-finals in the 16-and-under singles.

Because it was a gold level junior event, the highest level of club tennis
tournament in Australia, Watson and Lethlean played for the 3-4.

The match went Watson's way, 6-3 7-6 (9).

Watson teamed with Rich River's Erik Holt- Crossman to win the 16-boys doubles final against Lethlean and Shepparton's Nick Gattuso.

Bendigo's team for the Inter-Regional titles on the grasscourts at Mount Prospect Tennis Club in Creswick includes Watson and Lethlean joining forces in the 18-under age group.

They are the top seeds in singles, doubles and mixed doubles.

Singles, doubles and mixed doubles will be played across the three-day championships.

In Friday's first-round, Bendigo's No.1 player Jamie Brown takes on Jake Dunn in the men's open singles.

BTA team-mate Sam McHarg will mark a long-awaited return to regionals by playing No.3 seed Matt Moloney.

Top seeds for the men's open singles are Adam Lasky at one and Matt Hicks at two.

In the women's open singles, Bendigo's Tova Penno plays top seed Carolyn McGann.

The first-round match for Bendigo's Danielle Bowles is against Lou Angus.

Watson and Lethlean have a first-round bye in the 18-under singles.

The draw has Watson to face the winner of the Ben Lewin and Darcy Narita clash in round two.

Lethlean will start his tournament against Hugh Ebbs or James Fitzpatrick.

The men's 45-plus singles includes Bendigo's Andrew Lethlean seeded at No.4.

Friday's play hits off 9am.

Bendigo's team for the Inter-Regional tennis titles:

Open - Jamie Brown, Sam McHarg, Danielle Bowles, Tova Penno.

45-plus - Andrew Lethlean, Terry Smith, Hally Wile, Alison Lugg.

22-under - Jayden Blencowe, Connor Gledhill, Madeleine Mein, Stephanie Mein.

18-under - Zac Lethelan, Isaac Watson, Matilda Walsh, Emma Jenkyn.

16-under - Easton Smyth, Archie Wallis, Emily Holgate, Hannah Martin.

14-under - Sam Oster, James Holgate, Polly Barnett, Taylah Hayton.

12-under - Tom Waterson, Sam Taylor, Tiahna Leader, Daphne Crossman. .

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide