Bendigo team wins RK2 section in Murray Marathon

A BENDIGO canoe team has gone above and beyond its expectations at this summer's Murray Marathon. 

The team of Mark Harriott, Glenn Casboult, Greg Barrett, Jeff Kruss, Scott Foster, Andrew Morrall and Tony Misson achieved two line honours and won the RK2 division by one hour. 

Team leader Tony Misson said the group was worn out but proud of its efforts. 

"To get line honours on two days and win our division is just so unexpected," he said. 

"We are really proud of the way we worked together as a team.

"We set a goal at the start that we would share around the work load and we really coped with the river well.

"It's really impressive."

Mr Misson said the team had agreed to do the marathon because it would be the last night the race ran from Boxing Day to New Year's Day. 

He said the group used an open racing ski imported from Portugal to compete. 

Mr Misson said the group had competed in more than 40 Murray Marathons but had never paddled together as one team. 

The Murray Marathon raises money for organisation YMCA to go towards the Open Doors project.  

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide