Lampater, Grassman chase second Bendigo International Madison win

GERMANY'S Leif Lampater and Christian Grassman will chase back-to-back victories in next year's Bendigo International Madison track cycling classic.

Lampater teamed with Belgium's Kenny de Ketele to win last Saturday night's Australian Madison at Darebin.

Although they were opponents a few days ago, Lampater and Grassman will join forces in Bendigo on March 9 at the Tom Flood Sports Centre.

Madison CEO Rik McCaig said on Boxing Day that several teams were to be finalised.

New Zealand's Shane Archbold has signed up.

Another previous winner at Bendigo and crowd favourite, Swiss star Franco Marvulli may race.

A highlight will be the return of Eaglehawk's Glenn O'Shea to chase what would be a third Bendigo International Madison victory.

O'Shea won in 2008 and '09 with Leigh Howard.

A world champion in the omnium and silver medallist in the teams pursuit at the London Olympics, O'Shea will team with Alex Edmondson in Bendigo next March.

The South Australian Sports Institute team-mates have racked up many wins at home and overseas.

Edmondson won last week's Australian omnium title at Darebin.

Bendigo cyclists Brendan Schultz, Sam Crome and Aydin Bowe have earned selection for the biggest race on their home track.

Schultz and Tyler Spurrell led for many laps in this year's race and were eventually fifth.

Another Bendigo-raised cyclist, George Tansley from Mandurang will again team with Miles Scotson.

The South Australia SI team-mates were Australia's No.1 team at the 2012 national madison championship.

South Australia's Harry Carpenter was the inaugural winner of the Bendigo Grand Prix at the 2012 Victorian Open Road championships.

The madison carnival includes the Frank McCaig Memorial Wheelrace at Bendigo's club racing on March 6, and the city centre criterium on March 7.

Field for the 2014 Bendigo International Madison:

Glenn O'Shea-Alex Edmondson, Leif Lampater-Christian Grassman, Luke Parker-Tyler Spurrell, Shane Archbold-TBA, Matt Jackson-Sam Welsford, Jackson and Scott Law, Myron Simpson-Wes Gough, Sam Witmitz-MIchael Vink, Jesse Kerrison-Sam Crome, Brendan Schultz-TBA, James Robertson-Gerald Evans, George Tansley-Miles Scotson, Harry Carpenter-TBA, Aydin Bowe-TBA.

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide