Thunder to face early season VWFL test

THE Bendigo Thunder should have a fair idea of where it will sit in the Victorian Women's Football League's premier division after two rounds next season.

The VWFL fixture, released this week, sees the Thunder travel to take on last season's premier division wooden spoon winner, St Albans, in round one on May 4.

Bendigo's first home game on Sunday, May 11 at Dower Park will be a mammoth task against reigning premiers Darebin.

"Either way, we're going to look at it in a very positive light, it's going to be a great learning curve for us," Thunder general manager Bianca Rinaldi said.

"We may as well get that out of the way early on and use it as a gauge for what the rest of the competiions like as well.

"It will be interesting, first time in premier, to see how we go.

"There will be nerves and everything too, hopefully we can hold our own."

Bendigo has made the leap up to the VWFL's premier division in the restructured league after winning back-to-back flags in the north-west division.

The eight-team premier division will be played across 14 rounds, with the top-four playing finals.

The grand final will be played on Sunday, September 7.

Bendigo Thunder's 2014 VWFL premier division fixture: 

St Albans (away, May 4), Darebin (home, May 11), Berwick (home, May 18), Melbourne Uni (away, May 25), Diamond Creek (home, June 1), Eastern Devils (home, June 18), St Kilda (away, June 22), Darebin (away, July 6), St Albans (home, July 12, TBC), Berwick (away, July 20), Melbourne Uni (home, July 27), Diamond Creek (away, August 3), Eastern Devils (away, August 10), St Kilda (home, August 16, TBC).

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide