Hawks win off last ball

A FOUR by Coby Hansen off the final ball sealed Eaglehawk’s dramatic victory in Tuesday night’s Twenty20 cricket clash with Kangaroo Flat.

The Hawks started the final over, to be bowled by Brent Hamblin, needing just one run.

An incredible finish included a run out, a dot ball, and then Cameron McGlashan’s great innings of 59 was over after being bowled.

Shane Herdman was run out without facing a delivery and then Anthony McQueen was bowled.

Hansen headed to the crease with scores still level.

The 17-year-old calmly played the ball through  point to seal the win.

Earlier in the night, Kangaroo Flat’s Tyler Hinds and Brent Hamblin teamed for a 72-run opening stand.

A superb knock of 49 by Hinds included two sixes and five fours.

Brilliant all-rounder and Roos’ captain Adam Burns was in hot form as he struck four boundaries on his way to 20 off just nine balls.

Eaglehawk’s marquee player Tarek Moughanie took 3-22 off four overs.

An unbeaten 50 by Ben Devanny lifted Strathfieldsaye’s target to 150 against White Hills at KWD Oval.

The Jets made a great start as Hamish Schumacher (26) and Greg Lyon teamed for an opening stand of 44 runs.

White Hills struck back to take four wickets for just 10 runs.

Ben Devanny and Levi Walker, 20 n.o., had an unbeaten stand of 57.

Best of the White Hills attack were Rhys Irwin and Jake Foley on two wickets apiece.

The Demons fell to 2-21 in the chase as Xavier Crone bowled brilliantly.

Englishmen Henry Foster and Jack Herbon teamed for a 50-run stand.

Foster marked his first match for White Hills by hitting top score of 39, but the Demons ended up 11 short of the target.

Crone captured 3-21 and Ben Devanny capped a great match by taking two wickets.

There were 15 sixes struck in Bendigo United’s score of 195 against Golden Square at Harry Trott Oval in Kennington.

Matt Pinniger led the way as he raced to 50 off 21 balls. 

An opening stand of 94 between Pinniger and Melbourne’s Matt Brown ended when Brown was caught by Max Grant.

Pinniger struck five sixes and five fours on his way to 57 off 28 balls.

The in-form Ben Gunn, Pat Naughtin and Ricky Allan kept the run-rate at a high level as they all reached the 20s.

The run of sixes kept flowing as Miggy Podosky cleared the boundary three times as he reached 22 off 12 deliveries.

Golden Square’s Jamie Bysouth, David Hickman and Connor Miller took two wickets apiece.

Square was dismissed  for 142.

Jake Higgins, Max Grant and David Blume all scored 28 runs.

United’s Ricky Allan was on a hat-trick at the start of his fourth over, but did not achieve so. He finished with 3-19, and Josh Cruse took 3-14.

The unbeaten run for Strathdale-Maristians continued.

The Suns scored 7-125 in their clash with Bendigo at Bell Oval.

Bendigo fell to 3-14 in the chase as Jake DeAraguo and spinner Nick Roebuck kept the pressure on.

Michael Hill hit Bendigo’s top score of 36, and Liam Gaskell added 27 in a match where spin bowler Sam Taylor took three wickets. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide