BENDIGO cycling stars Imogen Jelbart and Beth Duryea will be chasing a historic victory in this Saturday night's Australian women's madison championship.

Women chase national madison crown

A field of 10 teams will contest the 100-lap battle at Darebin's indoor velodrome.

Duryea will team with Tiffany Cromwell in Cycling Australia's first national women's madison championship.

A team-mate for Jelbart is yet to be confirmed.

Teams to watch in Saturday night's madison  include WA's Mel Hoskins and Bella King, South Australia's Annette Edmondson and Jess Mundy, and Tasmania's Macey Stewart and Lauren Perry.

Duryea won the road race and criterium at last month's Victorian Open in Bendigo.

Jelbart starred at last Thursday night's Bendigo and District Cycling Club track racing at the Tom Flood Sports Centre.

Racing at Darebin begins on Thursday  when the opening races in the national women's and men's omnium are run. 

Contenders for the men's national madison on Saturday night at Darebin include Eaglehawk's Glenn O'Shea and SA's Jack Bobridge, and last year's winners Bendigo's George Tansley and SA's Miles Scotson. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide