Records smashed at Bendigo South East Secondary College's swimming carnival 

SEVERAL records were smashed at yesterday’s Bendigo South East Secondary College swimming championships.

Students from across a wide spectrum of age groups were in hot form as the Flora Hill-based college’s carnival at Bendigo Aquatic Centre.

Alexandra was the No. 1 house ahead of Rosalind, Fortuna and Shamrock.

The Ruby Deering Memorial Award for overall girls’ team champion was won by Alexandra on 1151 points from Fortuna  1098, Shamrock 986, and Rosalind 962.

In the race for the male teams award, Rosalind scored 1346 points to take the title from Alexandra 1331, Shamrock 1216 and Fortuna on 1131.

Many of BSE’s swim stars will now focus on the Sandhurst division swimming championships to be held on March 1 at the Bendigo Aquatic Centre.

Age group champions at BSE’s swimming carnival:

13-girls: Sarah McLennan.

13-boys: Harry Skewes.

14-girls: Lara Kofoed.

14-boys: Geordie Scarce.

15-girls: Shaina Brook.

15-boys: Billy McNally.

16-girls: Kate Jordan.

16-boys: Tyson Jelbart.

17-boys: Philip Ryan.

In the battle for the best participation by team, Alexandra led the ladder from Fortuna, Rosalind and Shamrock.

The Bicknell’s Sports Super Fish awards for fastest 50m in freestyle were won by Wes Luatutu, 32.17 seconds, and Kate Jordan, 30.58 seconds. 

Tablet - Narrow
Tablet - Wide